Browns announce their initial 53-man roster


The Cleveland Browns have officially set their roster to 53 players.

They waived the following players

  • LB BJ Bello
  • DT Caleb Brantley
  • RB Matthew Dayes
  • TE Devon Cajuste
  • OL Christian DiLauro
  • OL Spencer Drango
  • DL Daniel Ekuale
  • DL Zaycoven Henderson
  • RB Dontrell Hilliard
  • WR Blake Jackson
  • CB Mike Jordan
  • DB Montrel Meander
  • DE Nate Orchard
  • DB Tigie Sankoh
  • WR Da’Mari Scott
  • LB Brady Sheldon
  • CB Simeon Thomas
  • P Justin Vogel
  • FB Danny Vitale (injury)

The team also announced they traded a 2019 seventh-round pick to the New Orleans Saints for DL Devaroe Lawrence. Lawrence was an undrafted free agent out of Auburn following the 2017 NFL Draft and recorded 10 tackles and 2.5 sacks during the preseason.

Of the roster moves on Saturday, the notable ones were the releases of Caleb Brantley, Nate Orchard and Devon Cajuste.

Brantley was the team’s sixth-round pick in 2017. He had a slow start to his career but made some flashes throughout the second half of last season. The injury bug gave him some problems during the preseason and when he got on the field, Brantley only recorded two tackles and a sack.

Orchard was a second round pick for the team in 2015. After a productive college career at Utah, he never adjusted to the NFL in which he had three different defensive coordinators in his first three seasons and also had just 5 career sacks in 34 games. He was also featured prominently on HBO’s Hard Knocks as one of the players fighting for a roster spot.

Another player featured on Hard Knocks was tight end Devon Cajuste. He became a fan favorite with his story about his relationship with his father and many were hoping he would make the roster and he made some big catches during the preseason but his struggles blocking as well as on special teams made him expendable.

The 53-man roster is currently constructed as followed

QB: Tyrod Taylor, Baker Mayfield, Drew Stanton

RB: Carlos Hyde, Duke Johnson, Nick Chubb

WR Jarvis Landry, Josh Gordon, Antonio Callaway, Rashard Higgins, Damion Ratley, Derrick Willies

TE David Njoku, Darren Fells, Seth DeValve, Orson Charles

OL: Joel Bitonio, Austin Corbett, JC Tretter, Kevin Zeitler, Chris Hubbard, Desmond Harrison, Earl Watford, Austin Reiter, Greg Robinson

DL Myles Garrett, Emmanuel Ogbah, Chris Smith, Carl Nassib, Chad Thomas, Larry Ogunjobi, Jamie Meder, Trevon Coley, Devaroe Lawrence

LB: Christian Kirksey, Jamie Collins, Joe Schobert, Genard Avery, James Burgess, Jermaine Grace

DB: Denzel Ward, Terrance Mitchell, T.J. Carrie, E.J. Gaines, Denzel Rice, Jeremiah McKinnon, Jabrill Peppers, Damarious Randall, Briean Boddy-Calhoun, Derrick Kindred

K: Zane Gonzalez

P: Britton Colquitt

LS: Charley Hughlett

The Browns are first on the waiver priority so they will get the right to claim whomever they want of the 1,110+ free agents that have become available over the last 24-36 hours. The claims must be made by 11 am Sunday and will be announced during the day Sunday.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s