Trio of Indians up for major awards

While the Indians ended in a bitter collapse, this 2017 version of the club should be recognized and some members of the organization are up for some major individual awards.

The finalists for the American League Cy Young, Most Valuable Player and Manager of the Year awards were announced Monday night and each features a Cleveland Indian up for that award.

Corey Kluber has been named a finalist for the Cy Young Award for the third time in four seasons and is the front runner to win his second Cy Young Award.

Kluber was dominant during the 2017 season posting an 18-4 record with a 2.25 ERA, both of which led the American League in those categories. He also struck out 265 which was his fourth consecutive season of at least 225 strikeouts or more while limiting batters to just 36 walks.

The other finalists for the award were Boston’s Chris Sale and Luis Servino. The winner will be announced on November 15th.

Jose Ramirez has been named a finalist for the Most Valuable Player Award.

The 25 year old second baseman had his best season as a professional and was an integral part of the Indians success throughout the season.

He hit a career high .318 batting average with an American League best 56 doubles, a career high 29 home runs and 83 runs batted in. His WAR (Wins Above Replacement) was a 6.9 which was 5th best in the American League.

Joining him as MVP finalists are Houston’s Jose Altuve and New York’s Aaron Judge who is also a finalist for Rookie of the Year and it’s expected he’ll take both awards. The winner will be announced on November 16th.

Indians manager Terry “Tito” Francona is up for American League Manager of the Year, an award he’s won two times previously in 2013 and 2016 also with Cleveland.

Francona had his most successful regular season as manager of the Indians in 2017 with a record of 102-60. Even with dealing with heart problems throughout the season, Francona only missed a few games but was able to manage the entire second half and helped lead the ball club to a 22 game winning streak from late August to mid September which is the second longest streak in baseball history.

Joining him as finalists for the award is Minnesota’s Paul Molitor and Houston’s A.J. Hinch who are both very deserving of the award. The winner will be announced on November 14th.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s